sans le systeme is an experimental music / performance project led by composer / director JG Everest (Lateduster, BLACKFISH, Fresh Squeez, Grave Trio, Gold Minefield), based in Minneapolis, MN. All SLS performances are entirely improvised, and often feature 10 or more members performing together at a time.

Founded in 2002 as a Lateduster side project, SLS first appeared on the Crossfaded Vol.1 compilation, (Groove Garden) with a track called “Wipes (thank you & goodbye)” featuring Everest, Martin Dosh, Jeremy Ylvisaker, and Mark Erickson (FOG).

Everest revived SLS in 2015 with a weekly summer residency at The Third Bird in Minneapolis, launching the iNMiGRATiON series, with a different SLS lineup each week and live video projections by video artist Brian Dehler.  A second, Winter iNMiGRATiON residency followed at ICEHOUSE Mpls, where Everest expanded the “installation environments” vision to include the Free Range Orchestra & Choir ensemble roving and performing throughout the space.

Following the indoor residencies, Everest shifted iNMiGRATiON to a series of outdoor locations and special events, including the The Wolf House, Midtown Farmers Market, Square Lake Film & Music Festival, The American Swedish Institute, Hook & Ladder, and People’s Center, as well as another indoor Winter residency at Icehouse in 2019-2020.

Follow / Like Sans le Systeme on Facebook

SLS Collective / Participants:

  • JG Everest
  • William “Truth Maze” Harris
  • Martin Dosh
  • Ben Durrant
  • Chastity Brown
  • Sarah White
  • Aby Wolf
  • Jacqueline Ultan
  • Jeremy Ylvisaker
  • Busdriver
  • Crescent Moon
  • Ben Clark
  • Corey Healy
  • Joey Van Phillips
  • Jayanthi Kyle
  • Matty Harris
  • Cole Pulice
  • Ryan Lovan
  • Davu Seru
  • dVRG Devon Russell Gray
  • Diane Miller
  • Greg Schutte
  • Crystal Myslajek
  • Jamela Pettiford
  • Carlene Williams
  • Spencer Roth
  • Chris Hepola
  • Paul Fonfara
  • Jeff Nichols